Skip to content

I Love IT Nude, Shuck On Wintzell’s-100 Dishes To Eat In Alabama Before You Die-MEGabite #16

Oysters at Wintzell’s, fried, stewed or nude.

MEGabite #16 or #85 on the countdown. See below for a description of “100 Dishes To Eat In Alabama Before You Die”

Living near the Gulf, I eat oysters, a whole lot. I have grown to love them and nude with horseradish make me sizzle. This quote represents-“As I ate the oysters with their strong taste of the sea and their faint metallic taste that the cold white wine washed away, leaving only the sea taste and the succulent texture, and as I drank their cold liquid from each shell and washed it down with the crisp taste of the wine, I lost the empty feeling and began to be happy and to make plans.”
Ernest Hemingway, ‘A Moveable Feast’

Wintzell's, Mobile, Alabama

Wintzell’s, Mobile, Alabama

Wintzell’s Oyster House was founded in 1938. Serving fresh seafood from the Gulf, this restaurant has won many accolades.  I love the story from the humble beginning to a chain of 11.  The walls are covered  in hundreds of J. Oliver Wintzell’s witty sayings, I think I would have loved this guy.

FUN READ

FUN READ

IMG_2949

If you have made up your mind on oyster’s and will not eat them, I won’t change your mind. This quote dares you. –“The man who doesn’t like oysters, the woman who cannot abide sardines. We know the type.”
Harold Nicolson, ‘Food’ (1942)

I suggest trying the oysters with a preparation to your taste. The fried oysters and wood fired oysters with butter are pretty darn yummy.  Wintzell’s has a 75 year old recipe for their batter. The menu offers many ways for oysters to be tried; po-boy’s, gumbo, salads, topped with bacon, cheese, jalapenos, shrimp, crabmeat.  One of these oysters may be your gateway drug.  If not, Wintzell’s has a huge  menu.

I give this place 5 MEGastars *****  (here is my longer than usual explanation.)   I have been to a few different locations and have always had a nice eat and a good sit.  They always have a catch of the day and can make what I order without added salt. I like that a whole lot.  For folks coming in from out of the area, it is a fun stop to try award winning and regional foods such as; fried green tomatoes, cheese grits, gumbo,crawfish etoufee and bread pudding.  Wintzell’s also serves two specialties distinctive of and native to the Mobile area, West Indies Salad—a cold salad consisting of lump crabmeat and onions marinated in an oil and vinegar dressing—and fried crab claws, traditionally served with Wintzell’s signature cocktail sauce. For the last few reasons, I went 5 vs 4 star. In other words, not James Beard but on this varied menu, one may be inspired to try something new and find that Alabama dish that makes you want to die when you eat it.

**GOOD food *Great menu, atmosphere, good service. **Fresh Gulf seafood meeting the criteria of serving Alabama food with pride.   It has been over seventy-five years and Wintzell’s is still shuck’n.  So, shuck on Wintzell’s!

*100 Dishes to eat in Alabama before you die is a compilation of food to chow down on Bama style. Thanks to Tourism Alabama, at www.alabama.travel my Alabama bucket list just became a little easier. I am going to have some fun while making my way like Ms. Pacman, in yet another state that I call home. Download the alphabetical brochure that begins in Abbertville and ends in York. From the little old diner to the white cloth joint, it is an opportunity to explore and experience pride in the food from restaurateurs who are dedicated to local food with some Alabama style. From BBQ to James Beard recipients.  I use a 5 MEGastar system. If I give one of these dishes a 5th star, it means, I nearly died and went to heaven eating the dish, Loved it and don’t you miss it!

MEGatips;

  1. For heaven’s sakes, try oysters.
  2. Not sure? Try the Oyster Sampler has four each of Oysters Monterrey, Oysters Bienville, Oysters Rockefeller and our famous Chargrilled Oysters. Sixteen in all!
  3. Lunch time has a dozen oysters on the halfshell for half price, just sayin!
  4. Find your personal favorite quote on the walls.
  5. I have had the Fresh Indies Salad on another visit and it is a fun dish to try.
No comments yet

Leave a comment