Skip to content

Enlightenment In Bavaria

Soulful Sunday- Wieskirche-Pilgrimage of The Scourged Saviour, Checking off my U.N.E.S.C.O World Heritage Sites one visit at a time. Pt. 3 of 4 Bavaria, Germany

I collect World Heritage Sites instead of knick-knacks, but this time, I had to convince my husband to MEGATRIP off the path on a very rainy day.

europe ven alp mun 022

 

The countryside reminded me of my home dairy state of Wisconsin. (With the largest German population in the U.S,)  A gorgeous setting,  located in a secluded spot in the alpine area of Bavaria.  The hamlet of Wies, near Steingaden in Bavaria.

europe ven alp mun 070.jpg

 

Driving down twisty country toads, I remember thinking how lucky to see signs and a car with GPS.

europe ven alp mun 065

 

I remember thinking, is this the right place?

europe ven alp mun 064

 

There was MY  U.N.E.S.C.O. sign.

europe ven alp mun 063.jpg

 

I did not know much about this lil church. I was blown away and my husband was left speechless. This church is on the U.N.E.S.C.O. World Heritage Site as a cultural treasure. It is an example of a Rococo masterpiece, which was nearly demolished. (18th century artistic style that includes many forms of arts; painting, interior design, sculpture, architecture, literature, music and theater ….) Keep in mind, this church is in the countryside.

europe ven alp mun 029

 

Imagine stepping out of the rain and into this bright place. Jaw dropping!

 

In the middle of the countryside, long long ago people built this…the detail is mind blowing to me.

 

 

The wood carving

 

 

 

This is a poor photo with my point and shoot. This church is also famous throughout Europe as a pilgrimage site. In the center of this altar is an icon of The Scourged Saviour. In June of 1738, tears were seen on his face. At this time, the statue was housed in a small chapel. Large pilgrimages ensued, and a church was built.

europe ven alp mun 059

I am happy that this church was made a U.N.E.S.C.O. Heritage Site.  I contributed with a donation and lit a candle for my paternal Aunt who was ailing.

europe ven alp mun 055

 

This visit reminds me that today, our human treasures are being bombed rather than preserved.

All of MY senses were awakened, There was this moment of peace, joy and light. IMAGINE…If everyone practiced unity, If spirituality was unbounded, and we were all grounded in the humanistic teachings of the world’s religions. Think for ourselves. LOVE AND PEACE!

I give this visit 5 *****MEGASTARS I was able to check off another U.N.E.S.C.O. World Heritage Site. I was made more culturally aware and reminded of how much we as human beings are alike.  I was in awe of the beauty and timeless art.

MEGATIPS;

1. Take better photos.

2. Check the church website for visit schedule.  There are many times when you may not tour the church.  It is an operating church. Might be fun to see music being played there.

3. If you have time, take a tour. Note, tours at this church are in German.  One can arrange other languages, consult the website.

No comments yet

Leave a comment