Skip to content

The Obstinate Daughter A 46 South Carolina Best Restraunt MEGaStop

What’s up Meg?

I’m on a South Carolina food journey to chow down at the best restaurant in each of the 46 counties while seeking the Top 100 Food Dishes To Eat In South Carolina While Alive, Or, Before Dead, Whichever Comes First.

Tasty Tuesday – This is the second blog on my quest to try the best restaurant in each of the 46 South Carolina Counties. [1] This Tuesday, I visit The Obstinate Daughter in Charleston County.

This restaurant has a cool name, is in a cool place, on a cool island, with cool food. The end. Just Kidding. But for real, I went full glutton in this place and returned for a second bloating.

The Obstinate Daughter, a.k.a. O.D. is located on Sullivan’s Island just minutes from the city of Charleston, yet far away. A quaint small town with a population of 1,936 (2016) that has a beach kissing the Atlantic Ocean, art galleries, history, and character homes. Devoid of high rises, this is the type of coastal place that very sadly is becoming increasingly rare.

The Obstinate DAu patio

Obstinate Daughter patio, Sullivan’s Island

odstairs

Stairway of The Obstinate Daughter, Sullivan’s Island

Located on the second floor, the “street art” on their wall, made me want to have my own restaurant logo that I would want to tattoo on my body.

This is a certified green star restaurant.  This rating system was unfamiliar with and now after reading about it, I am a fan of.  In short, the rating takes in energy usage, food ie how far does it travel, water, waste, disposables, chemicals, pollution, furnishings and building. The past years I have undertaken taking more of these steps and to focus on food waste in particular. Here is a link to more information on green restaurants.

oddr

The Obstinate Daughter of Sullivan’s Island S.C. has green restaurant certification.

In the photo above, it is difficult to see the lighting in the back area. Made of corrugated cardboard, I loved them and asked the staff where they were made. A quick search on google, I noted that the price range for these items ranged from $174-$7720.00. From the reclaimed wood to the Turkish towel napkins to the color choices, my eyes wandered and I found the décor interesting and comfortable. Spot on

The Food

Generally, I visit places on my quest just once and I chose items from the menu as if I would never return. I sat in front of the specials board and lusted over the oysters. While discussing my choices with the polite server, she mentioned that not on the board, there were only ½ dozen South Carolina oysters remaining. SOLD!

odoyster1

Half-a-dozen Edisto South Carolina Oysters just for me! The Obstinate Daughter Sullivan’s Island S.C.

 

The new to me, Sea Cloud Edisto Oysters will now be among some of my personal best tasting oysters. I love the presentation, I appreciate when my oysters are safely served over ice. Served with a champagne mignonette, shrimp sauce, and their own house-made jalapeno sauce; I was torn by eating them naked, or with sauce. Normally, I love champagne mignonette with oysters and would not try the jalapeno sauce but since it was house-made, I did, and I loved it.

The Frogmore Stew, I chose this dish because it originated in South Carolina, and I wanted to check this off of my S.C. Food bucket list, so I could pop that cherry. Not a stew, this is a form of a Lowcountry boil. Named after the settlement of Frogmore on St. Helen’s Island, not one frog was sacrificed for me. At the Obstinate Daughter, this dish has a take on a creamy New England Chowder base and is loaded with sausage, potatoes, corn onion, celery, and fresh local shrimp.   Simply put, outstanding!

odfrogmore

Frogmore Stew at The Obstinate Daughter on Sullivan’s Island.

Here is where I went full gluttony, with so many choices on the menu and thinking that I wouldn’t return, I was super curious about the Geechie Frites and love shrimp, the Lowcountry Shrimp Roll made with garlic aioli, herbs, celery leaf, and served with those Geechie frites, this dish hit two of my interests.

odshrimproll

Lowcountry Shrimp Roll with Geechie frites at The Obstinate Daughter, Sullivans Island

I was thinking this dish would be more like an eggroll but arrived not fried and served on thick bread, sliced to form a pocket and loaded with shrimp. I could taste the garlic aioli, the shrimp flavors and texture were palate perfect and the sandwich was topped off with micro greens. I liked it! The Geechie Frites was another thriller. I didn’t think that would care for them but they were a delicious treat. Made with grits from the local Geechie Mills and fried, they were almost like hash browns but to me, even more flavorful. They were sprinkled with a coarse salt and maybe? Chives. Served on paper, the Geechie frites were not oily and these are the details that elevate a meal from food to an experience.

Upon my return visit, I was able to taste a few of what the servers stated were the best selling menu items and a few things that I had coveted from my lunch. The Obstinate Daughter has a top-notch oyster menu; I had to repeat the oysters and added a salad made with North Carolina apples, prosciutto, arugula, pickled onion, gorgonzola, spiced pecan.

assaladod

Salad at The Obstinate Daughter in Sullivan’s Island South Carolina

According to the staff, the pizza was also one of their top selling items. The menu has several pizzas made with gourmet toppings such as clams, shrimp, and duck confit. I am a pizza purist myself but I took a nibble of this fresh ingredient pizza. Terrific crust!

odza

Gourmet pizza at The Obstinate Daughter on Sullivan’s Island, SC

cfjauThe Rating

MEGastars- 5 *****

I find myself thrilled and surprised that a place is so much better than I could have ever imagined. I highly recommend a stop if you are in the Charleston area.

MEGatips-

  1. D. does have a handicap accessible elevator.
  2. Although I did not have a drink from the bar, I noticed a great craft drink menu and well-attended bar for the month of February.
  3. I will be writing about my visit to Sullivan’s Island upcoming.   I think it would be a great place to vacation and stay.
  4. A link to O.D. will provide you with answers to any questions for a visit.The Obstinate Daughter Sullivans Island
  5. The Frites may be ordered as a side item. Don’t miss them!
  6. They serve a terrific cup of locally roasted coffee!

[1] See below

[2] Green Restaurant Association

____________________________________________________________________________________________

ABOUT:  This MEGabites and MEGastars description is found at the bottom of each post and may be helpful if you are new to my food escapades.

*100 Dishes To Eat In South Carolina While Alive or Before You Die, Whichever Comes First.” is my compilation of food to chow down on “Carolina style.” It is my S.C. Food Bucket List and you may follow as I chow down like Ms. Pacman in another gorgeous state that I call home.  [1] I am loosely following Snacks of Jax 2016 46 County Best Restaurant List as a guide. From the Mom and Pop diner to the James Beard Chef, this journey is an opportunity for me to explore my new state and experience pride in food from restaurateurs who are dedicated to local food.  From my bucket list, I select stops based on convenience of location and they are in no particular order (but I already have a few favorites.)  [1] http://www.snacksofjax.com

I use a 5 MEGastar rating system.  For the most part, I am traveling a distance to try these dishes and generally, the experience gets one shot at how I view the food.   I factor this in using my own star system so that I may be fair to the wonderful dishes and people behind them. I’m very easy to please, I can overlook quite a bit and have worked in the foodservice industry.

  • *Meh food. Just wasn’t good. Maybe the food came from a can? Or, the place was not one that I would want to send someone to show pride in South Carolina.   This has happened to me a few times and is always a difficult write.
  • ** Passable – the food was “ok” but the place was not “ok” or vice versa.
  • *** Good but not outstanding or unique.
  • **** Very tasty dish AND meets one of the definitions set forth by Alabama Foods/Tourism, of local food and/or truly highlights Alabama Pride.
  • ***** I actually died, went to heaven and came back when I ate the dish. And/Or, something is very unique, something you cannot get anywhere else.

[1] Snacks of Jax Snacksofjax.com 2016 46 Best County Restaurant List

Leave a comment