Skip to content

100 Dishes To Eat In Alabama Before You Die-Athenian Grouper

Tasty Tuesday

THE DISH-Athenian Grouper at The Fish Market Restaurant in Birmingham is the 79th “dish” that I have tasted on my quest to eat all dishes listed on 100 Dishes To Eat In Alabama Before You Die. (Or 22rd on my countdown.)

fishmarketgrouper

)Athenian Grouper at The Fish Market

Grouper topped with grilled onions, marinated Greek olives, sliced tomatoes (I did not get the sliced tomatoes.), creamy feta cheese & Greek spices. Served with a few hushpuppies and a slice of lemon.

Other Foods that I was able to try.

bakedoystersfishmarket

Special Baked Oysters at The Fish Market Restaurant

Justin Baked Oysters with a Greek twist were tasty but I found them too salty.

fishmarketseafood

Seafood Bake at The Fish Market Restaurant

This dish had fish, scallops and shrimp in the dish.  Again, I found it too salty.

And then the dish that needs no introduction.

baklava

Baklava at The Fish Market Restaurant

So delicious.  Some of the best Baklava that I have ever eaten. YUM!

THE PLACE-The Fish Market Restaurant  at the downtown Birmingham location is situated near the University  Alabama campus and clinics in a renovated brick building.

thefishmarket

The Fish Market, Birmingham, AL

With several dining room areas, I finally was seated away from the serving station, the door, and the bathroom- Thanks! The walls were decorated with charming photos of Greece, boats (literally,)pottery, and fishing accessories.

There was also live music but I was unable to hear it from the area where I was seated.

fishmarketmusic

The Fish Market Restaurant has live music!

Even the bathroom had interesting pottery and sinks.

fishmarktbr

Restroom at The Fish Market Restaurant

I found a busy place, there is also an area just for take-out orders. However, my favorite part of this restaurant is the Fish Market, there is an actual market located inside the restaurant.

fishmarkettank

Trout tank at The Fish Market Restaurant

The shelves are full of Greek olives, oils, spices, seafood related goods, along with  many other fantastic items.

The fish market restaurnat

The Fish Market Restaurant has many Greek Specialties

And, there is fresh fish from what is called the “who’s who in fish markets.”  From near and far places such as the Alabama Gulf Coast, Florida, Massachusetts, and Lousiana.

fishmarket

The Fish Market Restaurant

MEGastars: 4 **** I love Mediterranean food and the fresh grouper was fantastic.  This dish was good, If these items had a bit less salt, I would have given them a 5. Fresh fish was available as well as Greek goods that were sold. My favorite fish is trout, I loved that they had quality fresh trout offered.

MEGatips:

  1. Locations downtown 612 22nd Street South, Birmingham. From the Website, two other locations were listed as Greystone and Galleria.
  2. Do check out the fresh-pressed olive oils.
  3. With a large menu, this restaurant has something for all tastes. I could go there frequently to try many of their menu items.
  4. MEGapick-Save some room for that Baklava!

 

 

 

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. laurenperezkitchen #

    So cool!

    Liked by 1 person

    March 21, 2017

Leave a comment