Skip to content

Pecan Pie Cheesecake-100 Dishes To Eat In Alabama Before You Die

Tasty Tuesday with a return to my quest to eat all of the foods on the 100 Dishes To Eat In Alabama Before You Die.  Pecan Pie Cheesecake at The Derailed Diner in Robertsdale was  my 74 th dish or 27th counting down.

This is a later time posting for my Tuesday writes. With the recent train derailment in New Jersey, I had initially decided to change my post for today but I wondered will there ever be a better time?  Instead, I removed the derailment humor but everything else is fair game.

The Derailed Diner has an address of Robertsdale, Alabama. I was driving from the coast area and when I reached Robertsdale, I thought that I was lost. Actually located off of I-10 that runs from Jacksonville Florida to Mobile Alabama and west Arizona.

An oasis truck stop like no other that I have ever seen, the creative travel theme begins on the exterior.

derailtrain

The exterior of the Derailed Diner.

There are a lot of creative touches and a sound when you open the door.

Derailed Diner out

Details on the exterior of Derailed Diner.

The train theme continues into the interior with train car dining.

derailtrainin

Dining in a train car at The Derailed Diner

Or a bus, a horse saddle, or

derailinbus

Bus inside The Derailed Diner

 

do some tailgating while watching a game while eating your home-cooked meals. With a diner-style menu, there is something for everyone.

derailtailgate

Watch some TV at your tailgate in The Derailed Diner

but, do save room for the Pecan Pie Cheesecake.

deraildinercake

Pecan Pie Cheesecake

Referred to as “Chef Rick’s Pecan Pie Cheesecake, ” this desert is made with a graham cracker crust, topped with pecan pie filling, and a layer of rich creamy cheesecake. The cheesecake is heavy and good for two people or one hungry appetite.

I give this cheesecake 3 MEGastars *** for being tasty

The D.D. as it is sometimes referred to has been featured in Roadside America is worth a stop.  I give the atmosphere 5 MEGastairs *****

Check out the Oasis shop cash register area.

derailship

A cash register in a pirate ship at The derailed Diner.

And my very favorite travel theme.

derailbus

Make Love Not War-Right On! Derailed Diner

MEGatips:

  1. Located at Exit 53 off I-10
  2. Derailed Diner According to the website, they are open 24/7 7 Days per week.
  3. The menu features home cooked food with a large menu.
  4. There is also a Chester’s Chicken and a Subway on the premises.
  5. They have a meal called a Hobo Basket. Your vegetables and meats come cooked in foil and tied off with a hobo stick that is yours. I bet the kids might enjoy this one.
  6. Check out this recipe for an over the top pecan pie cheesecake!Lady Behind The Curtain Cheesecake Recipe.   With either of these recipes, I would have added a dolloip of flavored home-made whipped topping.

_________________________________________________________________

This MEGabites and MEGastars description is found at the bottom of each post. If you are new to my 100 Dishes in Alabama escapade, this may be helpful information.

ABOUT:  *100 Dishes To Eat In Alabama Before You Die,” is a compilation of food to chow down on “Bama style.”  Thanks to Tourism Alabama, www.alabama.travel my Alabama bucket list just became a little easier.  I am going to have some food fun while making my way like Ms. Pacman, in yet another state that I call home.   From the little old diner to the white cloth setting, this journey is an opportunity for me to explore my new state and experience pride in food from restaurateurs who are dedicated to local food, with some Alabama style. From the local BBQ smoker to James Beard recipients, you too will take a culinary trip across scenic and historical Alabama.  From this list, I select stops based upon convenience of location and they are in no particular order (but I already have a few favorites.)  Perhaps when I finish this list, I will rank my favorite dishes. You too may pick up the brochure at Alabama Tourism stops or download the alphabetical brochure that begins in Abbeville and ends in York.

I use a 5 MEGastar system.  For the most part, I am traveling a distance to try these dishes and these places get one shot at how I view the food and experience.   I will not be taking an average of three visit experiences and I factor this in when I give my star rating. That said, I’m very easy to please, I can overlook quite a bit and have worked in the food service industry.  I am not a paid food critic, just Meg, a curious traveler, with an interest in trying different foods and sharing my two cents on the experience.  I try to follow my own star system so that I may be fair to the wonderful dishes on this list.

  • *meh food. Just wasn’t good. Maybe the food came from a can? or,  the place was not one that I would want to send someone to show pride in Alabama.   This has happened to me a few times and is a difficult write.
  • ** passable – the food was “ok” but the place  was not “ok” or vice versa.
  • *** good but not outstanding or unique.
  • **** Very tasty dish AND meets one of the definitions set forth by Alabama Foods/Tourism, of local food and/or truly highlights Alabama Pride.
  • ***** I actually died, went to heaven and came back when I ate the dish. And/Or, something is very unique, something you cannot get anywhere else.

 

 

 

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Yummy yummy ! This seems great!

    Like

    October 4, 2016

Leave a comment