Skip to content

So Sinful I Had To Go To Confession 100 Dishes To Eat In Alabama Before You Die

The Half-Baked Cookie at Urban Cookhouse is my 56th dish or the #45th on my countdown of tasting 100 Dishes To Eat In Alabama Before You Die. 

According to Urban Dictionary, it means the greatest movie of all time. According to Miriam Webster Dictionary, half-baked means, “imperfectly baked.” This cookie fits neither of these two definitions.

urbancookie.jpg

Cooked in a 5-inch black iron skillet, the edge turns out golden, with a very slight crisp and the middle is intentionally “underdone.” Topped with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and drizzled with chocolate syrup. The middle reminded me of a lava cake center with the taste of warm cookie dough mixed with ice cream where each bite gets better as you work through the cookie with the melting vanilla ice cream, gooey chocolate chips, and warm cookie dough merge.

This dish is so indulgent. Thankfully I ate healthy for my lunch meal.  Oh,  and my penance for an occasional sin is 10,000 extra steps. According to Co-owner Andrea Snyder you have to eat this cookie before you die! Co-owner Andrea Snyder talks about the Half-baked Cookie at Urban Cookhouse

I give this dish 4 ****MEGastars.  I am not sure if this cookie dough or ice cream is from Alabama,  but  I do know that it is served with Alabama Pride. Urban Cookhouse is dedicated to Buy Local and Eat Urban.  This is one of two dishes on “100 Dishes To Eat In Alabama Before You Die.  The other dish was a 5 MEGastar ***** Chipotle Braised Pork Sandwich.  In that blog, I wrote more about why I love Urban Cookhouse.

MEGatips:

  1. Allow 20 minutes for this cookie. Order it with your food.
  2. Bring a friend and grab a spoon and there is no need for penance.
  3. Can not get there but want to have this experience? Go get a cast iron pan cause this recipe is pretty simple. Urban Cookhouse Cookie recipe. In the last city that I lived in, this dish was served but they also added whip cream on top of the ice cream.  Why not?
No comments yet

Leave a comment